Bam Bam Gets Aussie Title Shot

TOWNSVILLE’S Mark ‘ Bam Bam’ Flanagan (15-4, 10KOs) faces the toughest test of his career on May 24, when he challenges Daniel Ammann (29-6-1, 6KOs) for the Australian Cruiserweight title at the Townsville Entertainment Centre.

Flanagan started 2014 with a bang, headlining on Fox Sports in February with a spectacular first round knockout over previously undefeated Western Australian Andrew Green. The dramatic finish is an early contender for Knockout of the Year.

Image

Flanagan lands KO blow on Andrew Green.

‘Bam Bam’ who previously campaigned at Light Heavyweight, where he won Queensland and regional titles, feels his move to Cruiserweight has helped his career. Since the move to the higher division, he has recorded four consecutive knockout victories.

“It has been a long process growing into the Cruiserweight division, it has taken me a while,” 24 year old Flanagan explained.

He puts strength and conditioning sessions with the North Queensland Cowboys three times a week down as a contributing factor to his recent success. “The work I do at the Cowboys has helped me a lot. I’ve got a good regime and I now feel strong in the division.”

Ammann, 31, has competed with and mostly defeated the best the country has to offer over his 9 year career. His most recent outing was in the United Kingdom where he fought, albeit unsuccessfully, for the converted Commonwealth title.

Flanagan says, “Ammann will be a tough fight. He has experience and fought his entire career at Cruiserweight and been in with some good guys. I will have to come ready and pressure him for the entire 10 rounds.”

The proud Townsville product expressed, “I love fighting on TV, but to bring this fight to Townsville and fight in front of my home crowd is something I wanted to do. I hope everybody gets behind me and helps me win the title.”

 

Leave a Reply

