Mark Flanagan Interview

He may be from the small North Queensland city of Townsville, but Mark Flanagan is steadily etching his name on the Australian boxing scene. With a record of 15-4, 10KOs, he is ever improving and at just 24 years of age has a bright future ahead in the sport.

Suitably nicknamed ‘Bam Bam’, the power punching Cruiserweight is on a run of 4 consecutive stoppage victories, the latest being a huge 1st round KO over previously undefeated Andrew Green as the main event on Fox Sports.

Ahead of the biggest test of his career, his upcoming Australian title fight with Daniel Ammann, I asked Mark a few questions to give an insight to his boxing career and what may lie ahead for this promising talent.

 

How/Why did you get into boxing and how old were you?

I started boxing when I was 13. I just loved it as a kid and couldn’t believe it when I found a boxing gym down the road from my new house.

What was your amateur career like?

I had 46 fights for 40 wins. Winning State, National and Golden Glove titles.

You turned pro in 2009 as a 76kg 19 year old. You are now a 90kg 24 year old. As you have progressed, what do you feel has been the major changes in yourself, besides the 15 odd kgs?

Believing in my power and being patient.

You spent a lot of time at Light Heavyweight, how hard was it for you to make that limit?

It started to get really hard as I was walking around at 86kg and finding it hard to cut weight as I was still growing. Cruiserweight feels natural.

You’ve said the Cruiserweight division seems to be much more suited to you, what are some of your goals and where do you see yourself in 5 years time?

Just step by step. First the Aussie title, then try for a Commonwealth title, then hopefully a world title.

You’ve got a fight on the 24th of May for the Australian Cruiserweight title; what does preparation consist of for a fight of this level?

My preparation is usually a 10 week camp, training 6 nights and 4 mornings a week.

You’ve won state and regional titles, but what would it mean to hold that Australian title belt?

Aussie title would be a massive deal to me, it’s always been a goal of mine.

Your opponent Daniel Ammann has been around for a long time, have you seen many of his fights and what is your opinion of him?

Daniel is a great boxer and I respect him a lot. This is a big challenge but I’m ready. This is my time.

Did you happen to see the David Aloua v Brad Pitt fight on the Mundine v Clottey undercard the other week? What did you think and would you like to maybe step in with either of them some day?

A fight with Pitt and Aloua would be great and I think Australia would love to see it.

Who has been the most influential person in your career?

My trainer Dennis Clancy.

Best advice you’ve ever been given?

Train everyday like it’s your last chance.

Favourite Fighter?

Gennady Golovkin

What is your fondest boxing memory to date?

Beating Kariz Kariuki is probably my fondest memory.

What do you love most about the sport?

I love everything about boxing. Boxing is me, it’s my religion.

 

I want to thank Mark for taking the time to answer these questions and wish him all the very best for his upcoming fight, and the future. I urge everybody, especially those in Townsville to support their local talent.

Mark will fight Daniel Ammann for the Australian Cruiserweight title on Saturday May 24th at the Townsville Entertainment Centre.

Tickets are available for purchase from the Entertainment Centre, see website for details https://www.tecc.net.au/

townsville 24th

Leave a Reply

